NDC primaries: Delegates vote for flagbearer and MPs in some constituencies

NDC primaries Delegates vote for flagbearers and MPs in some constituencies

Some constituencies in the country are voting today to choose a flagbearer and Parliamentary Candidates for the National Democratic Congress ahead of the 2024 elections.

Citi News reporter Philip Nii Lartey reported that voting began around 8 am at the Ningo-Prampram constituency, where Sam George is facing a tough competition from Michael Tetteh Kwetey.

The Member of Parliament for La Dade-Kotopon constituency, Rita Naa Odoley Sowah, who is seeking re-election, told Citi News that she is confident that delegates will vote for her to continue serving her constituents. Voting started at 7 am in her constituency.

In the Klottey Korle Constituency, voting started around 8: 30 am. The candidates are Dr. Zenator Agyemang Rawlings, Meredith Naa Odarkai Lamptey Addy, and Nii John Alfonso Coleman. A total of 1,971 delegates are expected to vote.

See also  Bawumia seeks blessings of NPP MPs to lead party

In the Adentan Constituency, former Children and Gender Minister, Nana Oye Bampoe Addo, Linda Asibi Awuni, and incumbent Adamu Ramadan are vying for the seat. Voting is also ongoing in this constituency.

However, in several constituencies in the Northern Region, voting has not started yet as EC officials insist that they will follow the 9 am start time instead of the 7 am announced by the NDC.

There is also a disagreement between constituency executives of the NDC in the Awutu Senya East and regional executives over the venue for the election this morning.

See also  Charles Opoku emerges victorious in NPP’s Assin North primary

Constituency executives want the election to take place at the Odukpongkpehe School Park while the regional executives want it to happen at the Ofaakor DA Basic School.

Some delegates and party supporters have gathered at different venues, causing a delay in the start of the event.

Constituency executives say they have the right to decide on a suitable venue for the event according to Article 16 (12) of the party’s constitution.

Former President John Dramani Mahama is competing for the flagbearership slot with former Kumasi Mayor, Kojo Bonsu after former Bank of Ghana Governor, Dr Kwabena Duffuor withdrew from the race.

See also  NPP aspirant Alan Kyerematen delivers nomination forms

Dr Duffuor said he was unhappy with the processes leading to the party’s primaries; especially the voters register.

He said there were many irregularities in the exercise; which were not resolved by the party’s leadership.

Former President Mahama has given some money to delegates of the NDC to help them travel to the voting centres.

A statement signed by his Spokesperson, Joyce Bawah Mogtari, said Mr. Mahama decided to support delegates with some T&T to enable them to go to the voting centres.

Related Articles

NDC rules out re run of primaries in Ketu North after delegates protest
  • Politics

June 2, 2023

NDC rules out re-run of primaries in Ketu North after delegates protest

NDC primary election delayed by venue dispute in Awutu Senya East
  • Politics

May 13, 2023

NDC primary election delayed by venue dispute in Awutu Senya East

NDC cautions agents over pink sheet saga in Kumawu by election
  • Politics

May 23, 2023

NDC cautions agents over pink sheet saga in Kumawu by-election

Leave the first comment